Converting a Homeschool Business to a Nonprofit: Nonprofit Incorporation

Carol Topp, CPA will explain how to convert a for-profit business into a nonprofit organization. In this second episode Carol discusses bylaws and nonprofit incorporation. #podcast #homeschoolgroupsSometimes a homeschool group started as a for-profit business desires to convert to a nonprofit organization for its many benefits. Can that be done? How hard is it? How costly is it?

In the next 3 podcast episodes Carol Topp, CPA will explain how to convert a for-profit business into a nonprofit organization. In this second episode Carol discusses bylaws and nonprofit incorporation:

The first episode #168 on forming a nonprofit board aired on April 4, 2019. Find it at HomeschoolCPA.com/Podcast

What makes a nonprofit? How is it different from a for-profit business?

  • A board (not an individual) operates the nonprofit organization.
  • They explain the purpose, membership and design of board. They also describe Board job descriptions and duties. Sample bylaws can be found at HomeschooLCPA.com/Samples.
  • Articles of Incorporation (your founding document) and to be organized and operate as a nonprofit organization. Read some of Carol’s articles on nonprofit incorporation:

How do we become a recognized nonprofit?

Do we need to Incorporate?

5 Great Reasons to Incorporate

Featured Product

In the podcast I mentioned that I’m offering a webinar on Creating a Nonprofit for Your Homeschool Community

Airing live on Monday April 22, 2019 at 8 pm ET/7 pm CT/6 pm MT/5 pm PT.

Who should attend?

  • Brand new start up homeschool groups
  • Existing groups that never formed as a nonprofit
  • Homeschool communities run as a business that want to convert to be a nonprofit
  • Leaders that are unsure if their homeschool group is a business or a nonprofit. It can be confusing!

Cost is only $10

For more information visit HomeschoolCPA.com/CreateNP

 

 

Speak Your Mind

*

Get your FREE "Fun for Kids" Planner!